Making up for Monday – A double bill

button_zpsf54ece10Last Monday, I spent the whole of Monday either on a train or at the bridge over the River Kwai. To be honest, there wasn’t much to make up for, it was a great day and I got to go somewhere new that I didn’t think I would make it to. It did mean that I neglected to do a Making up for Monday post, so I have decided to make the most of my days relaxing and do a double Making up for Monday feature.

Last week, the question posed was How do you feel about banned books?

How do I feel about banned books? To be honest, I don’t really know. I think a lot of books are banned for reasons I don’t understand, and many books that have been banned and that aren’t anymore are more famous for the fact they were banned than anything to do with the writing itself.

There are some books that have been banned that I have never heard of an will never read, and there are some that are on my To-read list and have been for sometime, irrespective of whether they have been banned or not. Banning a book does nothing to the appeal, or lack there of, that the books holds over me, so I don’t really pay much attention to whether a book has been banned at any point.

My favourite book ever, To Kill a Mockingbird Harper Lee, has been featured on many a banned book list for the use of racial language, and rape content, and has done nothing to prevent it being regarded as a literary classic.

And for this week, Have you ever read a book that changed your opinion on a topic?

I don’t know if I have ever read a book that has made me change my view on a specific topic, but I have certainly read books that have changed my mind on different genres, or opened my mind to new ideas.

I always regarded fantasy (not Harry Potter style, but LOTR/GoT) novels to be unappealing, but reading Tolkien’s works have opened my mind to the world of fantasy.

Many a book, including but not limited to Dan Brown’s Inferno, Belinda Carlisle’s I Love Capri, and James Twining’s The Black Sun have made me want to travel to places I hadn’t previously considered that much, such as Istanbul, St Petersburg, and Capri.

Leave a Reply

