Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Book Related Problems I Have

toptentuesdayI don’t think I really understand this week’s Top Ten Tuesday. This week, the ladies at Broke and Bookish set a challenge to list ten book related problems that I have (either serious or fun).  I don’t really know what qualifies as a book related problem, or what problems I have related to books that falls within this category. Oh well, here we are:

I felt so clueless about what to do that I sort of did two lists:

  1. When the title of a book bears precisely no resemblance, or is a very tenuous link, to anything within the book, and appears to have been chosen just because it is a little bit catchy, or snappy, or jazzy.
  2. When the romance element of a plot takes something away from the actual plot and basically ruins the enjoyment of the actual story.
  3. When the quality of the writing is so woeful that I notice the errors instantly and it distracts from the plot. Seriously, if the editor didn’t spot them, or tell the author to sort the writing out, they’re not good at their job and the author isn’t a brilliant writer.
  4. When someone tries to be too clever with their plot and ends up having more plot holes and frayed endings than they have complete plot lines and whole stories.
  5. When characters have stupid names or names that you can’t pronounce. If I don’t like someone’s name it irritates me when they do anything, or are mentioned.
  6. When the only character I like in a book is killed off half way through and I have to finish the book because I’ve already started it.
  7. When all the male, or female, characters are pretty much the same descriptively because that’s what the author finds attractive and God forbid their characters could deviate from that thought.
  8. When you’re told a book is a classic, but when you start reading it you have no idea what made it a classic and you don’t want to keep reading.
  9. When authors make their own words/language up and you don’t know how to pronounce them (even more annoying when you see a film adaptation and it is pronounced differently to how you thought it would be)
  10. When a character is introduced in the sub-plot and then never mentioned

These are more related to hard copies of books, like actually books, rather than the content:

  1. Space: I never have enough space to store the books I do own, and want to own in the future
  2. Editions: Do I choose the pretty one, or the original one? It’s so difficult to choose
  3. Cost: Hard books cost money, a lot of money when you read a lot
  4. New or used: Do I buy a new copy of a book I want to read, or find it in a charity shop?
  5. Series: Why is everything a flipping series? I can’t not own one of the series when I have some of it
  6. Series editions: I hate it even more when I own the complete series but the different books are different editions, urgh.
  7. I have books on my bookshelf I have never read that are years old (in terms of when I bought them)
  8. And I have a book list that is longer than the number of books I own. Go Figure.
  9. Hating kindles: I love the feel of a proper book, turning the pages, feeling the paper between your fingers.
  10. Loving kindles: Fr someone who reads as much as I do, the love/hate relationship with the e-reader is obviously present.
  1. again.
10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Book Related Problems I Have

    • The editions of my Twilight series (I know, I know) are the worst. I have the movie paperback edition of Twilight, lost my New Moon, the original Red ribbon paperback version of Eclipse and the hardback chess piece original breaking Dawn, so frustrating.

      And you’re right, JK Rowling is a bit of an exception here, because what would Harry’s world be without the creatures and the spells, and the imagination. I guess the exception proves the rule??

      Liked by 1 person

      • 😀 Awww, yeah I know the feeling. I hate it when editions go wrong…I wish I had more money so I could perfect my book edition collections hahaha How did you lose New Moon? o.O

        Perhaps haha but I do think it’s also the case with many movies that make it into Hollywood movies. I mean there’s so many books so Hollywood must see more potential in some? 😀 Hard to know what they think haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • My New Moon copy was damaged beyond recognition so I binned it :/ I don’t even like Twilight but it bugs me a lot. I have a few other series like that, but that one is by far the worst!
        It is hard to know what they think at any point, you’re right!

        Like

      • I didn’t mind Twilight when I was in school, but then it was overhyped and I re-read it and I realised how much I didn’t actually like it. And I didn’t like the movies.
        But no matter how much I like/dislike them, that set will annoy me until I fix it!

        Liked by 1 person

    • I just replied to Anastasia about this exact problem, editions, urgh!!

      As for the love/hate relationship with the kindle (or nook in my case). It’s really difficult, we should be rewarded for our struggles in the name of all things books and stories!!

      Like

  1. mike whitehouse says:

    We read your top 10 reading gripes with something approaching jaw dropping amazement. I’ve included a few musings below:
    Title – I quote Homer, ” I swore never to read again after ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ gave me no useful advice on killing mockingbirds. It did teach me not to judge a man based on the color of his skin, but what good does that do me? “Romance – When the quality of the writing: you read all three Shades of…When someone tries to be too clever: any Harry Potter (and liked Sherlock, I know it’s not a book…)
    When characters have stupid names or names that you can’t pronounce. If I don’t like someone’s name it irritates me when they do anything, or are mentioned. Atticus/Dolphus/Calpunia(Lee) Too many to mention (Rowling) Hunger Games trilogy
    When the only character I like in a book is killed off half way through and I have to finish the book because I’ve already started it erm, not sure on this one, I know one character who should have been dispatched – Ron W (worse thing is JKR says she planned to do it originally. If only……)
    When all the male, or female, characters are pretty much the same descriptively because that’s what the author finds attractive and God forbid their characters could deviate from that thought. (Hunger Games, team Edward (Jane Austen fits in here too)
    When you’re told a book is a classic, but when you start reading it you have no idea what made it a classic and you don’t want to keep reading. (Any George Eliot, TS Eliot’s The Wasteland for me) to what classics were you referring/reading?
    When authors make their own words/language up and you don’t know how to pronounce them (even more annoying when you see a film adaptation and it is pronounced differently to how you thought it would be) Almost any spell in HP – some of the houses too, shed loads of ‘Lord of the Rings’ Conan Doyle wan’t averse to this either
    When a character is introduced in the sub-plot and then never mentioned Grawp and Grawp and GRAWP Space: replace teddy BEARS (as you go used the wrong version in your blog)/soft toy/cushions with books
    Editions: Erm difficult – the originals can sometimes be a little costly eg The First Folio (Shakespeare) is one of the most valuable printed books in the world: a copy sold at Christie’s in New York in October 2001 made $6.16 million hammer price. all depends what you mean by original
    Cost: Hard books when released on Amazon are often no costlier than the paperback
    New or used: Do I buy a new copy of a book I want to read, or find it in a charity shop? Charity shop – you and the dealer get what they wantSeries: Why is everything a flipping series? I can’t not own one of the series when I have some of it (a film not a book – The Godfather III)
    Series editions: I hate it even more when I own the complete series but the different books are different editions, urgh. The content shouldn’t change – just the cover eg JKR for adults is same book but more adult coverI have books on my bookshelf I have never read that are years old (in terms of when I bought them)And I have a book list that is longer than the number of books I own. Go Figure. This is the same for everyone)
    Hating kindles: I love the feel of a proper book, turning the pages, feeling the paper between your fingers. Ereader vs book – dropping a book in the bath ruins the book , dropping an electrical device in the bath…Loving kindles: For someone who reads as much as I do, the love/hate relationship with the e-reader is obviously present. You read so much but is any of it any good. Genuinely good book I think you’ll like ‘The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society’ Mary Ann Shaffer. Well written, great story and easy to read. All in Liverpool

    Like

    • Jeez Dad, way to rip apart the post completely. Fair points though.
      There are lots of things in there that probably contradict things I have said about books before, because my mood is perpetually changing when it comes to books and stories. And you’re right, J K Rowling and Tolkien have made up a lot of words, and names, that for someone as young as I was (when I first read them) made it difficult to read. I may love the worlds they created and agree the words were often necessary, but I can still find it irritating.
      And who cares if what I am reading is any good or not? I am currently reading Frankenstein, Deathly Hallows, and Captivated by You. they literally could not be more different, in story, quality, everything, but so what? I like reading, it doesn’t really matter what it is!

      (I am annoyed with myself that at some point I put the wrong bears in, very annoyed!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

