Making up for Monday – February 16th

button_zpsf54ece10I can’t believe that I will leave Roi-Et behind in less than 2 weeks. 2 WEEKS, that really is no time at all. These past few months have flown by crazy fast. I thought leaving everything behind would be easy, but turns out, I’ve really grown attached to this place.

On Friday, school was more relaxed than normal. In Thailand, Valentines’s day is quite a big deal, even the kids celebrate it with a vigour that is definitely not seen at home. I know the student-teacher relationship dynamic here is really different to at home, you are allowed to be a lot closer here, but it is safe to say it would be severely uncool to give you teacher anything, let alone a rose, on Valentine’s day.

Screenshot 2015-02-15 at 19.51.35In Thailand, it is tradition in school to stick a sticker on the person you like, and to stick a sticker on the teacher that if your favourite/you like. Students also bring in roses for the teachers you like. As you can see from the picture, I came home with 3 roses, one chocolate rose, and a top covered back and front in stickers. I must be doing something right. It’s making me realise how close I have become to the school and the students over the past months and how much it will suck to say goodbye.

This weekend also saw us host a Mexican(ish) night for our American and Thai friends that we have met living here. We weren’t sure if we would all be able to get back together before we left, so we thought we’d invite everyone round. we cooked a load of Mexican food (or as Mexican as you can get in Roi-Et) and had a nice night chilling in our house.

After, a few of us went out tot he local bar strip. It was Valentine’s night, so was packed out everywhere, so we vacated the only club in the hope of finding somewhere less cramped and less crazy. Jade saw her students outside, which was a little awkward. After wandering round and entering the most bizarre club I’ve ever been to, we went back to Boozer, but to the outside section this time, and found an area to dance without buying drinks, win.

Throughout the evening we were reminded how beneficial it can be to be a farang here, but also how much you stand out. We weren’t id’d anywhere, because we’re white; people stopped to take photos with us (both official promo ones of the strange establishment, and locals out having a few drinks), and random people came by with their drinks to clink glasses. It was crazy. Not as crazy as having the football on giant screens all around the club while you listen to club music and dance. And of course, it was the Liverpool match, it was perfection. It’s a shame about the bites.

A relaxing day was in order yesterday, so we sat enjoying the left-over Mexican food, watching Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D and the end of Captain America: The Winter Soldier, and planning for the next week of teaching, and for our travels beyond. It’s getting so close now.

Making up for Monday

The whole point of this post was supposed to be the Making up for Monday meme, but I got lost in a recap of the weekend. Oops.

Screenshot 2015-02-15 at 20.27.26This week’s task was to think of books you have regretted reading. I have read a lot of books, some amazing, some OK, some awful. I have read all sorts of genres and stories, and have read fiction and non-fiction. I have enjoyed an awful lot of what I have read, and there is also a fair amount of stuff I haven’t thought was up to much or didn’t enjoy.

That said, without getting too philosophical, I don’t regret a single one. Yes, there have been some things I’d never tell someone to read, but it doesn’t mean I regret actual reading them.

I feel like this is a cop-out answer, but it’s the truth, so there!

Leave a Reply

