Making up for Monday

button_zpsf54ece10This week, for the first time in a long time, I actually sort of kinda read what I said I would do on my TBR. I know, I know, thank you, thank you, it really is quite the achievement. I’d like to thank….

Ok, so that might have been a tiny bit over the top. I vowed this weekend to read Paige Toon’s One Perfect Summer and One Perfect Christmas, and both of them were done and dusted before I went to sleep on Sunday evening. Yes, I didn’t touch Harry Potter, but that was only an ‘in case you do somehow manage to get through these and want to read something’ addition to the Friday reads list.

malgpThe weekend was not void of activity, we did watch Into the Woods, listen to the tennis, and discover that there is a high likelihood that we would hit Kuala Lumpa perfectly to coincide with the Malaysian Grand Prix. Go to an F1 Grand Prix is on my bucket list, and it’s pretty cheap to go there, so it seems perfect.

I made a comment about the quality of my fiction (well on the latest occasion) in my last post, and decided that I would read rubbish if I wanted to until I left teaching. This has of course prompted my wish to start something a little better, so I am finally starting Treasure island today, and I am going to download Great Expectations onto my reading app on Clive (my tablet). They should fulfil the better reads criteria for a couple of weeks at least. I’ve still got a couple of Paige Toon books, Deathly Hallows, and the new Bloodlines book to go alongside this new reading challenge, but it should keep the balance between disposable rubbish and better fiction.

I need to stop calling any fiction rubbish. If I have managed to buy it on e-book or paper back, or even found it on the internet via pdf, it has clearly been deemed good enough to publish. I have never managed to write a book, or get anything published, so util the day that happens, I should stop being quite so snobby about literature and authors.

I have noticed a meme called Making up for Monday, which a couple of the bloggers I follow partake in. Monday is my emptiest day at school, so I thought that I would partake in it this week, and maybe every week going forward if I don’t forget like I did with Top Ten Tuesdays! Here is a brief description direct from An Avid Reader; A Wannabe Writers’s blog:

Let’s face it, Mondays are the worst. The week has just begun and its another five days until freedom from profession purgatory. So I decided to make Mondays a little brighter by coming up with something fun to write about. Each week I will have a theme or game, or something fun to do that week. And you can play along! All you have to do is find the question for that week, go to your own blog, write a post that day based on that question, and link your post to this one using the link up tool at the bottom of the post.  Don’t forget to explain why.

The question this week is: Have you ever chosen a book over sleep?  If yes, what book and was it worth it?

The answer to this is quite simply yes. I’ve not just done it over one book, I’ve done it countless times. Trying to think back, I can remember numerous times where I have made the stupid decision to stay up really late to finish a book. I have no hope of remembering everyone, but here is a snapshot:

The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, Mockingjay Suzanne Collins: I wanted to read Hunger games before I went to see the movie, but I had only heard about it whn the movie came out, so I stayed up all night to read it. Then, I became a littl addicted and read the other two in the space of 24 hours so I knew how it ended. It was a little disappointing if I am honest.

Divergent, Insurgent, Allegiant Veronica Roth: I had no excuse to read these so quickly, I didn’t even enjoy the latter two that much, but they were on my computer screen, and I sort of forgot to stop reading. Oops.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix/Half-Blood Prince/Deathly Hallows J K Rowling: I was to young to read late, and for a long time when the Goblet of Fire came out, but by the time The Order of the Phoenix came out, this was no longer a problem. I can remember waiting for weeks eagerly anticipating these books coming out, and as soon as I got hold of them, not wanting to put them down. I didn’t want anyone to spoil the ending, and I wanted to know the latest chapter in Harry Potter’s journey.

I have literally stayed up later than i should instead of reading on a regular basis since I was about 14, so I have no hope in recounting everything else I’ve read instead of sleep. I think it’s worth it though. If you haven’t given up something (sleep, eating, going to the toilet, spending time in the presence of real life people) then you haven’t been reading the right books!

Leave a Reply

