The 140 character film review – Magical, musical, marvel-ous Christmas

TV episodes, mainly of the Neal Caffrey and White Collar variety, have occupied most of our TV/film watching time. Now as we have finished the series completely (sob) I thought I would get round to reviewing the films we watched around his Caffrey-ness and whilst we mourn the loss of him from our screens (literally.)

We’ve watched quite the assortment of films over the past few weeks, from YA action to magical schools, from space adventures to singing high-schoolers, from green bah-humbugs to greek sing-a-longs, we really have been doing the rounds of film genres:

Tangled: A return to Disney princess greatness, really good, with the animals (Maximus and Pascal) and the smoulder stealing the show

Guardians of the Galaxy: Hilarious, space cowboy adventure. A brilliant new leg of the marvel Cinematic universe. Stunning Cinematography, so colourful.

Mamma Mia: I’ve realised I like Meryl Streep, and despite poor male singing, a decent, warm, and funny film. Revitalising ABBA classics.

Hairspray: Loud, funky, and awesome. I know who I’d hang out with, and his name is Seaweed. My favourite musical movie adaptation so fun, great remake.

The Grinch Who Stole Christmas: Worse than I remember, longer than I remember, everything I don’t like about Jim Carrey.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – part 1: Much better than the book, and better than I anticipated, but highlights the issues of overstretching thin plots to make more movies

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone: Well-cast, well done, magical, marvellous. A brilliant adventure that is holding up as I age.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets: My favourite HP book, but not film, it’s still awesomely wonderful, and a lot more magical feeling.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban: Darker and more adult, a different take on the scenery and more complete performances, with some excellent cameo introductions.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire: Less long and drawn out than the book, brings the tri-wizard tournament, quidditch world cup, and Voldemort to life terrifyingly well.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix:Better editing than the books, but cut too much good stuff and kept too much bad stuff (St Mungos and Grawp, hello?!) Possibly my least fave

Rhod Gilbert and the Flaming Battenberg Tattoo: (I know this is technically not a film, but as it is a DVD and is almost film length, I thought I’d stick it in here) Whole new meaning to side splitting laughter. Get sick buckets and the oxygen tanks, I can’t breathe from laughing. Absolute comedy genius

2 thoughts on “The 140 character film review – Magical, musical, marvel-ous Christmas

Leave a Reply

