Bout of Books – Day 7

I cant believe it is day 7 already, and that the end is here!! Where has the week gone?! I hope you have all had a great Bout of Books 12, and that you have done as much reading as you hoped you would, and if you haven’t, I hope you have enjoyed what you have managed to finish!

Today is Laos day, it’s border run day, and I am really nervous. I’m packing up all my valuables in case they don’t let us back in. i am seriously worried that might happen, despite the assurances and seeing many friends successfully complete it over the past few weeks.

The Laos day trip (hopefully it only takes today) will severely limit my ability to update, so you may all just get it at the end of the day. I am hoping there will be a lot to report on the reading, and the visa side of things. After all, waiting on the buses, and in Laos to cross back across the friendship bridge leaves plenty of time to shift through some last minute Bout of Books reading!

Updates

6am: An early early start for what is likely to be a long and nerve-wracking day. But I’m armed and charged with my nook, laptop, tablet, and ipod – the perfect reading quadfecta (I totally just made that word up!) I am hoping to minimum finish Harry Potter and the Order the Phoenix, and maybe (hopefully) start something else.

5pm: I’ve been to Laos and I’m back. Thank heavens. That was a deeply unpleasant trip! I did finish Order of the Phoenix though. Unfortunately, I couldn’t download the other books on my TBR so I added another Belinda Jones one – The Paradise Room, which I am now 10% of the way through. I can’t wait to get back to Roi-Et!

9:30pm: After a blooming long day crossing border, getting stressed at immigration, being squashed on buses, and waiting round for hours, we have made it home, complete with a stamp in our passports allowing us to stay in Thailand for another 30 days.

And it’s cold, so cold I am shivering and ran into the house to put socks on to stop the frostbite.

Oh, and I’ve nearly finished The paradise Room. I won’t have read all the books I set out to on my TBR, but I will have read the equivalent amount in pages and books read. I’m classing that as a success!

Challenges

Today there are two challenges to see off Bout of Books in style. The first is a #sixwordchallenge courtesy of Falling Down the Book Hole, the second is a dysfunctional family challenge courtesy of Auggie Talk.

The six word challenge is like a super-condensed version of my 140 word reviews, and has left me stumped as to whether to summarise, or review in the six word challenge.

Harry Potter J K Rowling: I’ve lumped the series together in one review, because why not? ‘magically wonderful height of children’s fiction’

Out of the Blue Belinda Jones: ‘romantic myth filled adventure in Greece’

I Love Capri Belinda Jones: ‘I think I like blue again’

To Kill a Mockingbird Harper Lee: ‘superb emotive flawless my favourite book’

Crash J G Ballard: ‘Disgusting unpleasant unnecessary gratuitous horrible book’

A dysfunctional book family, hmmmm….. I feel like I need to think about this one a lot!

Great Grandparents: Legolas (LOTR), Carlisle and Esme Cullen (Twilight saga)

Grandparents: Albus Dumbledore (Harry Potter), Gandalf the Grey (Lord of the Rings), Jane Marple (Miss Marple), Aragorn (Lord of the Rings) Lady Catherine de Bourgh (Pride and Prejudice)

Parents: Mary Poppins (Mary Poppins), Indiana Jones (Indiana Jones)

Siblings: Matilda Wormwood (Matilda), Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games), Klaus Baudelaire (A Series of Unfortunate Events), Nancy Drew (Nancy Drew Mysteries)

Uncles/Aunts: Atticus Finch (To Kill a Mockingbird), Sherlock Holmes (Sherlock Holmes Adventures), Hannibal Lector (Red Dragon), Effie Trinkett (The Hunger Games), Jezzie Flanagan (Along Came a Spider)

Cousins: Adrian Ivashkov (Vampire Academy), Luna Lovegood (Harry Potter), Lisbeth Salander (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo)

I think the dysfunctionalities of my ‘family’ are plainly obvious; from the great grandparents being eternally attractive, to the socially awkward youngsters, the gay grandparents (Dumbledore and Gandalf) and the troublesome uncles. I’ve basically picked people I’d actually think would be awesome in my extended family, and just thought, what combination would make the most awkward, bizarre, yet awesome family get together.

Imagine the Christmases and Weddings!

4 thoughts on “Bout of Books – Day 7

  1. Oh my goodness! You sure had a trying day! And to think that you still got some reading done. Good for you!!!!

    I love your responses for the challenges. When seeing the characters you picked to be in your family, I hit my head saying, “Duh! Why didn’t I think of him/her?” Lol

    Vonnie’s Reading Corner

    Like

    • Lol, I think everyone does that when they look at what someone else has created though right? I just wanted to imagine the most entertaining, bizarre, awesome, dysfunctional family get together. There would be no boredom, that’s for sure!

      I like how we have gone for very similar characters in some areas! I so nearly went for Molly Weasley, but when I knew they had done a book series of Mary Poppins I was like she’s my lady!

      And thanks, if I get the chance to read I am going to take it, and as there was a lot of waiting time, and ‘oh God what if we don’t get back through I need a distraction’ time. I hope you had a good day yesterday and that your bout of books has gone splendidly! I need to follow 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

