Bout of Books 12 – Day 3

I am really enjoying this Bout of Books. I was worried that I’d give up because I’m away from home, and therefore real books, and because no one I know is doing it too, but no, I’m into it.

There is a real community feel with the Bout of Books read-a-thon that I’ve never really experienced outside of Tumblr in the blogging world and I really like it. Thanks guys!

Updates

9:45am: It’s a late start to the posting day. For the first time, Jade and I overslept this morning. Not late enough to miss school, or even turn  up late, but long enough that I didn’t have time to blog before I left the house. Most Bout of Bookers won’t even be awake yet, and some won’t have even finished Day 2, but I like to get my post on early, like the start of my day.

Oh well. I’ve read a little more of Order of the Phoenix, and I think I have packed my nook so can stay  something else later. I’m. on top of my reading rate, but. the challenges are taking a while, so I may get a jump on those today.

I like, well downright prefer, how other people have set their posts out, and how they let us know their updates, challenges, page counts, and books read. Next time, I think I might do it more that way. We’ll see.

2:30pm: Today has been poor for reading progress as I’m only on page 199 of Order of the Phoenix. Good news is I’ve been writing and making good on my resolution to learn Spanish though.

This is also the strangest update for me, my class are currently writing their likes and dislikes in English. I probably should get back to them….

7:30pm: I think I am just going to declare this day a complete write off, as I have done next to know reading, napped when I got in, and done nothing really of use. I should have known when we overslept this morning.

10:15pm: Urgh, today is a reading right-off. Oh well, I guess there is always another day and this is to be expected. I did discover duolingo though, an excellent little app that helps you learn Spanish and a host of other Latin based languages. At least I’ve been a tad productive.

11pm: I am ending this negative day on a high-note. I’ve struggled reading a little today, so decided to start Out of the Blue, which is my third book on my Bout of Books TBR. Hopefully tomorrow I can get some more reading done. It feels like Bout of Books is flying by too fast 😦

Challenges

Today’c challenge comes from Lori at Writing my own Fairytale and I think might be my favourite Bout of Books challenge I have completed. To pick any two characters from the whole of literature together in a relationship is just nearly impossible. I haven’t even picked the type of relationship I am going to do yet.

I think it has to be a couple/dating relationship, it feels like a waste to pair two characters together and then not have them date. But who to choose, who to choose…

I think I would put together, in a date situation, Adrian Ivashkov (from Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series) and Nancy Drew. Pairing a rich, egotistical, sarcastic guy with one of the best examples of good, honest, intelligent, hard-working female literary role models should make for an interesting first date. I feel like these two would initially clash (who doesn’t with Adrian off the bat) before falling into  bizarrely functioning relationship.

Plus, they’d look good together, well, their descriptions would.

2 thoughts on “Bout of Books 12 – Day 3

  1. Lori says:

    I’m glad you’re enjoying Bout of Books! I love these read-a-thons and how much interaction there is within the community. I’m sorry you didn’t have a good reading day but there’s still lots of time left! And your challenge answer for today was awesome!
    I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve never actually read a Nancy Drew book. But I love your coupling and the reasons behind it and think it would be really interesting to watch the two of them together! Thanks so much for participating! Enjoy Bout of Books! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you, it was a really great challenge. You should definitely read a Nancy Drew book. As child I always wanted to be a doctor or a detective, and as a red-head, Nancy drew was someone awesome to look for. Her and Ned were my first ever OTP!!

      I just think that they are so different that they would work. Or at least be entertaining.

      Bout of Books is amazing, it’s really allowed me to see the benefits of blogging and has introduced me to a great community of people 🙂

      It’s been a bit of a rubbish day all round, especially on the reading front, but I still read, which is the main thing! There’s always another day!

      Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

