Bout of Books 12 – Day 1

BoB12-200x200Due to my location, I am in fact hours ahead of this years read-a-thon. When I go on Bout of Books, the countdown clock says it doesn’t start for another 6 hours (ish). But as it’s 7am here, I am beginning in earnest, and have packed a copy of 4 of the 5 books on my TBR, just in case. I have from 8am until 1pm free on a Monday at school, not including the flag ceremony, which should be plenty of time to shift through some pages. OK, so I have to attend the hospital to follow my rabies injection schedule, but I’m hoping waiting times aren’t as long here as they are back home.

Updates

7am: I’ve packed everything but my Belinda Jones novel ready to go, but my reading count stands at 0 pages. Not a surprise considering the time! I am going to tweet updates throughout the day in addition to here, so check my twitter out!

12.00pm: I have now kicked off reading for Bout of Books 12 with HP, and have read a reasonable 130 pages. If I factor in the rabies injection, lesson planning, and letter writing I have done, I guess it is a little moremore impressive. An afternoon of teaching awaits, so I doubt this count will rise much more any time soon.

2:45pm: Lessons are going well, and I am being reminded how much I love Harry Potter. 218 pages read!!

4:30pm: I’m finally home, about to collect the laundry and Jade from school, then do a workout. How exciting! I really need to think about the challenges soon, and not just reading. That said, I’ve now read 269 pages. Not to shabby if I do say so myself. How are you getting on?

5:30pm: I haven’t read anymore, and Jade and I have entered the Neal Caffrey zone, but I am making a start on today’s challenges, which started with writing my book-related resolutions.

7:30pm: Urgh, the challenges were hard today, and the rice keeps sticking to the pan. I am finally done with today’s events though, just need to read some more so that my page count rises above the 269 it’s been stuck on for hours.

11:30pm: I am a little disappointed that I haven’t read anymore today, especially after such a good start, but I have done the challenges, got some pictures, talked to some new people, and enjoyed Day 1 of Bout of books 12. That’s why we do it right?

Challenges

Bout of Books: New Year’s Resolution Challenge The Book That…

Why oh why did I make so many New Years resolutions. Between my actual New Years Post, and my 2015 bookish resolutions post, there are 12 I think. Oh well:

1. Complete Bout of Books 12, and any subsequent Bout of Books read-a-thons that occur in 2015: Marathon Man William Goldman. While Bout of Books is far from a Marathon, this years resolutions may feel like it at times.

2. Write TBR’s that are both manageable, and interesting, and that keep me reading what I say I will read: The List Siobhan Vivian. TBR’s are essentially lists, so I figure this one is fairly obvious, no?

3.  Read 100 books: The Mammoth Cheese Sheri Holman. This is a mammoth task, I love cheese, and the title was too good not to use. I think that about sums this choice up.

4. Review every book I read: All Work and No Play Makes Jack a Dull Boy Jack Torrance. I fear this will start to feel like more of a chore than a past-time, but I hope to stick to it.

5. Acknowledge that reading 1 good, well-written classic book is probably at least as good, if not better, than reading 4 or 5 shoddily crafted YA or romance novels: Great Expectations Charles Dickens. My thoughts exactly about classics and revered novels.

6. Blog more about books, adaptations, and involve myself in the online book lover world more enthusiastically: Everyone Poops Taro Gomi. I’m not even going to lie, I didn’t know what to do for this one and as it has everybody in it’s sort of relevant. Mainly though, I just love the title.

7. Complete Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge and this 2015 Reading Challenge: Go Hard or Go Home Andy N Robinson and Kirsty McGregor. Not only is the travelling content relevant to me now, it sums my current attitude towards challenges.

8. Lose 10% of my body weight: Shrinking Violet Definitely Needs a Dog Lou Kuenzler. An awesomely titled book, basically used because I would like to have shrunk in size (not height) come Dec 31st,

9. Exercise at least 3 times a week,  every week: The Running Man Stephen King. OK, so I hate running, and I am female, but it’s kinda all there.

10. Learn Spanish: Tourist Season Carl Hiassen. I know longer want to be the ignorant tourist that I hate when I travel, so come tourist season, I plan to have learnt some decentish Spanish.

11. Draw a picture every day for the whole year: The Artist’s Way Julia Cameron. I think this is quite self explanatory.

12. Have an alcohol free 2015: The Rum Diary Hunter S. Thompson. I accept the rum section is ironic, but as I am keeping both a journal and blog through this alcohol free time I just felt that it fit.

Bout of Books Challenge – Bookshelf Scavenger Hunt Caught Red H&nded

For a traveller, this challenge is not easy. I possess no hard-copy books at the moment, except what is on my bookshelf at home in Liverpool, thousands of miles away. With that in mind, I have decided to use my e-reader in the hope of finding books that fulfil the criteria.

Find a book with the following criteria on a bookshelf:

The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

1. Find an author with the same initials as you:

My full name is Elizabeth Whitehouse, which quite obviously means my initials are E and W. I struggled to find an author with the same initials as myself, but finally stumbled upon Edith Wharton, and The Age of Innocence. This was definitely the hardest aspect of this challenge.

Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

2. Find a book with the colour yellow on it:

I have repeatedly wrote about my love for Sherlock Holmes on this blog, so I thought I would stick one of his detective novels in here. Possibly the most famous of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s works if The Hound of the Baskervilles. It just so happens that my copy at home has yellow splashed all over it – got to love the comic style 2008 editions of the Sherlock Holmes stories.

3. reptileroonFind an author’s name with the letter “S” in it:

I don’t know why, but the first author that came was Lemony Snicket, and so I have gone with the second book in the Series of Unfortunate Events: The Reptile Room. It’s my favourite book in the series, and has a particularly cool cover. Well the whole series does, but I especially love this one.

vampaca4. Find a book with a female protagonist:

In honour of Jade, and the books she introduced me to, I have chosen Vampire Academy, Richelle Mead. I may not think they are the greatest characters ever, I don’t even like one of them, and I do in fact prefer the male characters in her books, but, they (I am sort of lumping the series loosely under one title) feature femlae protagonists in every single story.

lesmis5. Find the longest book you own:

In honour of Emma, her dissertation, and her all too frequent mentions on this blog, Les Misérables, Victor Hugo. Not only is this the longest book I own, but it is one of the longest books in literature. I still need to read it, but to be honest, enjoying the film would be a start.

hp36. Find a book with a map in it or on it:

I have recently read Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, J K Rowling, which prominently features the magical Marauders Map. Not only does it feature a map, it is probably my favourite map in all of literature. Actually, just one of my favourite maps of all time.

liveandletdie7. Find a book with a face on it (photograph or illustrated):

I wanted to make sure at least one book from my Bout of Books TBR was a part of this challenge, so I have decided to use Live and Let Die, Ian Fleming, which prominently features both a semi-naked woman, and a hat-wearing skull. The first definitely counts, and in my opinion, so does the skull.

Screenshot 2015-01-05 at 21.33.39Bonus: Find something on your shelf that isn’t a book:

No problemo, I have everything from Harry Potter Bookends, to a rubiks cube, a butterfly covered trinket box to photo frames, a digital clock radio to a set of darts.

7 thoughts on “Bout of Books 12 – Day 1

Leave a Reply

