2015 Bookish Resolutions

2015 is upon us, signalling a new year full of new challenges and of course, new resolutions. I completed a post all about my resolutions for 2015/2558 resolutions and New Years Eve here, so I won’t go repeating myself too much.

This post is all about my love for books, and my new resolutions regarding reading this year. I don’t know how many I am going to make, I expect quite a few, so let’s get started.

This post is inspired by both Emma’s similar post, and the Bout of Books Day 1 challenge set by The Book That… I was going to do it in conjunction with my New Years post but that has been and gone, and quite obviously did not happen. But better late than never right?

1. Complete Bout of Books 12, and any subsequent Bout of Books read-a-thons that occur in 2015, no matter where in the world I am. I really enjoyed Bout of Books 11, and have so far enjoyed participating in Bout of Books 12, so it shouldn’t be a problem. This includes at least attempting every challenge, though this may turn out to be impossible considering the absence of physical books on my person as I travel.

2. Write TBR’s that are both manageable, and interesting, and that keep me reading what I say I will read. TBR’s make me read better quality novels, and encourage me to read a wider range of genres. I gave it a go last year but travelling thwarted the lack lustre effort, and so I would like to take it up again.

3. Read 100 books. This must include a minimum of 50 novels that I have never previously read, and can inlcude re-reads in the calendar year as long as they are read cover to cover starting and finishing in 2015. I think this is my most ambitious resolution, but travelling may allow me the time to complete it.

4. Review every book I read in the 140 character review format at the very least within 2 weeks of completing it. In aaddition rank every book I read on Good Reads as soon as it is completed.

5. Think about what I want to read an acknowledge, well, re-acknowledge, that reading 1 good, well-written classic book is probably at least as good, if not better, than reading 4 or 5 shoddily crafted YA or romance novels.

6. Blog more about books, adaptations, and involve myself in the online book lover world more enthusiastically. By keeping book posts separate from travel posts where appropriate, I can cater to anyone who reads my blog for the book side, rather than travel side, and of course vice versa.

7. Emma (again, I know, I know) wrote about book challenges on different blogs and on Good Reads that I think will help me complete resolutions 2,3, and 5. Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge and this 2015 Reading Challenge seem like good places to start structuring my reading aims.

8. Complete the books I started but didn’t finish in 2014:

  • High Rise J G Ballard
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower Stephen Chbosky
  • The Phantom of the Opera Gaston Leroux

I hope to actually keep these resolutions, no matter how outlandish they are. I hope to keep all my resolutions, bookish or otherwise. I don’t usually bother making resolutions, at least not as large a set as I have this year, but I have felt something this year that has made me want to write some, and complete them. The switch has flicked.

Do you like to make resolution, or do you do things on the fly? What have you promised to do this year?

One thought on “2015 Bookish Resolutions

Leave a Reply

