The 140 character book review – Fantasy filled and Bout of Books 12

I’ve really got into the swing of reading as many books as is possible without going crazy in school. I need to up the quality fo what I am reading, but let us be honest, between ourselves. I always say that, and I never do. Maybe that should be a New Years resolution. In a bid to continue reading and blogging, I have decided to join Bout of Books 12. More information below.

As I mentioned in my last book review post, I have been reading a lot of series. They have been a tad embarrassing to say the least. I’m fitting this review in as a final one for 2014, and as my sign-up for Bout of Books 12, so there are less books on there. They solely consist of the Bloodlines Series, and nothing else (sorry Dad). This set of books was introduced to me by my travel buddy Jade, and she admits freely that they aren’t great as well, just strangely addictive. I decided to race through them because they are easy to read and can be picked up and put down easily at school. That, and I wanted to finish them before the new one came out so that Jade and I could talk about it. I’ve heard her mention these characters over the years I’ve known her, so it is nice to actually know them to.

Bloodlines (Bloodlines: Book 1) Richelle Mead: Turns out crazy old men can talk sense. Better written than Vampire Academy, less cluttered, and more Adrian ‘Sarcastic God’ Ivashkov

The Golden Lily (Bloodlines: Book 2) Richelle Mead: I’m still not sure I know what the Warriors of light are, but the building love-story is funny, and well-done, if blindly obvious

The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines: Book 3) Richelle Mead: As if Moroi, Strigoi, Dhampirs, and Alchemists weren’t enough, lets chuck witches and an age inappropriate mind bond in the mix

The Fiery Heart (Bloodlines: Book 4) Richelle Mead: I don’t like the new persepective, ruins Adrian’s mystery and I don’t like the absence of it’s own storyline, a filler if ever there was one

Silver Shadows (Bloodlines: Book 5) Richelle Mead: Slow start, rocky unsure middle, and farcical ending, but entertaining apart from that

Jade had to help me remember what happened in books, which probably says as much as the actual reviews considering I only finished them a couple of days ago.

I may have read them lots of times before, but looking at Universal Passes and merchandise in the Harry Potter shops has made me want to read them again, so those, along with my Bout of Books TBR will be my next missions I think.

Bout of Books

For those of you who have followed my blog for a while (basically since its creation) you will probably have seen my blog posts for Bout of Books 11. It’s a really great online reading community that hosts a friendly, low-pressure week-long read-a-thon. It’s a great thing to be a part of, I can’t recommend it enough! After New Year, I will still be posting my goal setting link. This year I have noticed this feature has been sort of removed, it’s still encourged, but so we all flail and not fail in unison and with a successful feeling, they have removed this as a necessity. That may be the case, but for me, I will probably ditch it if I don’t goal-set!

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 5th and runs through Sunday, January 11th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 12 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

2 thoughts on “The 140 character book review – Fantasy filled and Bout of Books 12

Leave a Reply

