Do you wanna build a snowman?

RToday, when I woke up and dragged myself out of bed I thought to myself (well, out loud to Jade actually) that I really miss my dressing gown. That, and I would love my slippers. It was then I realised that I was in Thailand. Warm, sunny Thailand. Now, when I say it was cold you’re probably thinking ‘oh haha, did you have to the air con off for an hour?’ but seriously, it’s properly cold.

When I left for work this morning, I was wearing my thickest and longest skirt and a jacket, the only one I have. I got on the motorbike to work, and was shivering. The old lady was wrapped in a jumper and scarf, I had to hide behind her the whole way to stop myself becoming an ice sculpture.

When I arrived at school, the students were in their classroom rather than the yard, because they thought it was too chilly to be outside, and I lost count of how many of them were wrapped in thick coast, hats and gloves. There were no windows open anywhere, all the fans had been switched off, and I was still sitting at my desk wishing I was warmer.

Except, I kind of don’t. I am kind of relishing the cold. I don’t want to seem like I’m moaning for it being too hot because I love the hot weather and it’s nice to know it won’t rain, but every now and then it’s nice, hell it’s refreshing, to feel a little cold. It’s nice to want a jumper and enjoy a coffee (when there isn’t an ants nest on the top of the water boiler – Jade’s ant genocide was impressive.)

As I write this after a bizarre day in work (that included a school visit from the dentist) I have moved from the table to the bedroom to get under my blanket. I’m not just saying that, it’s true. I am enjoying wrapping up for a change. It’s is a little bit of home here in Thailand, and it is breaking the monotony of the heat.

OK, so the title took it a little far, how I wish we would have a day of snow to build a snowman. If it gets that cold I need different clothes for sure.

Leave a Reply

