The 140 character book review – An Introduction

A few weeks ago I read an article that summarised the Disney Pixar movies in 140 characters, or a tweet for those who are technologically unchallenged. (You can find the article here.) This made me think, why not do something similar yourself?! I have been reading a lot more over the past few months, and decided a while back that I wanted to review the books I read in some way to practice writing and to collect my thoughts so I actually had, and retained, an opinion on what I had finished.140 characters is a tiny amount to commit to writing considering the length of the average published novel. Reviewing went down the proverbial toilet bowl the second I came travelling,  but no matter where I am or what I am doing, I should be able to write a tweet length piece on a book.

Now as I am thinking about it, this may turn out to be more of summary, but we can see how it goes, and always abandon it if (when) it goes wrong:

Gone Girl Gillian FlynnA psychologically crazy but strangely absorbing roller-coaster ride, featuring an absolute whack job and an ingeniously unrealistic twist

Delirium Lauren OliverThe middle-ground of dystopian YA fiction between Divergent and Hunger Games, better written than both, but not as exciting. Too lovey dovey

Pandemonium (Delirium Trilogy) Lauren Oliver: A lot more action, less sickening romance, but too much time-jumping. You win some, you lose some. More gritty, but lacking summat summat.

The Hound of the Baskervilles Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Oh Holmes, how I love you. An emotionally, intellectually engaging classic tale, no stupid plot twists. Despite that, distinctly whelming

Matched Ally CondieAnother dystopian YA book. Not just another story. Well written, cleverly futuristic, overly societal. The Matrix did red/blue pill better.

Crossed (Matched Trilogy) Ally CondieAdventurous, rebellious, appropriately romantic, and realistic about character death. Belter of a middle book with an intriguing cliff-hanger

Reached (Matched Trilogy) Ally Condie: Scientifically engaging and politically intriguing. More layers than expected, and a realistic thought provoking end. So far, best in genre

I think I might make this post a two-parter, best not post them all at once. Not only have I been meaning to do this for ages, but it has filled some of those boredom filled frees I definitely haven’t been harping on about. I definitely think this is a good idea, I might try to keep this up.

I should extend it to films. Maybe. We’ll see.

 

One thought on “The 140 character book review – An Introduction

Leave a Reply

