Birthday Abroad

Happy Birthday to me, Happy Birthday to me, Happy Birthday to me-eeeeeeee, Happy Birthday to me!

In case you hadn’t guessed, it’s my birthday. Well, technically it was yesterday, but I fell asleep as I started this so…oops. It’s a bit strange being in a different country in your birthday. To be honest, it didn’t really feel like it was my birthday at all.

All the years I can remember, and all the birthdays I can recall, I have spent at home, except one, in my first year at Lancaster University. I’ve never really thought about where I would be on my birthday, because home is always the answer, so thinking about coming travelling made me think about where I would have my birthday: Roi-Et, Thailand, as it turns out.

It’s strange celebrating a birthday in a different country, but as I have only done it once, I can only speak for here. For starters, I was in work, and had to do my first ever activity in front of the whole school at the flag ceremony. It wasn’t that bad, I actually quite enjoyed it, but it was strange knowing I was singing ‘Heads, Shoulder, Knees, and Toes’ into the microphone in a different country on my birthday. A very surreal experience. The lessons were fine, and the school day was enjoyable,  it’s just strange not being able to speak to anyone while you’re celebrating your birthday. I guess that’s why we’re here attempting to teach them English.

It was nice to have some cards to open from home, that by some miracle, had made it to our frankly obscure address. They are finally going up on the walls this evening, along with the home-made card that Jade made! It was also nice to get some pictures from home, the walls will finally look less white tonight!

Jade and I wandered to the local shopping centre, Big C (I think we should get some sort of loyalty card and advertising deal for the place we walk there that often) to have a pizza at a restaurant downstairs. I think it’s only the second time I have committed to having Western food outside of the house. It was awesome, so great we ordered enough pizza to bring home and have cold today for lunch. One of Jade’s good ideas.  Mockingjay had better be in English or the trip to the cinema is going to be incredibly anti-climatic!

Between the banner, the cake, and the card, Jade did make my birthday actually feel like my birthday. It’s nice to have a familiar face from home to celebrate with. I was already to kill her for getting ill earlier in the week (not really!) and missing it, but she didn’t, and stood up to the plate to make it a nice day. So thanks Jade.

I really thought that if I was going to get homesick it would be now and Christmas, but it really hasn’t hit yet, which I hope is a good thing and doesn’t say too much about me?! I don’t really know what homesick is to be honest, but I don’t think I feel it. Yes, I miss some people from home a bit, and I miss some of the food and a lot of the facilities, but just not enough to think about it that much. I just don’t notice it, even when I am celebrating my birthday.

So yeah, anyway, 23, the start of the mid-twenties. I feel a bit old. A bit very old.

One thought on “Birthday Abroad

Leave a Reply

