September TBR (and a vague August Haul re-cap)

So last week’s TBR went absolutely atrociously. I got no reading done (well, about 35 pages of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.) I did have a successful read-a-thon, however, so let’s take a glass half full approach and look for the positives. Clearly setting the target was good for me, I just had a lot on last week, and wasn’t very well, never productive reading circumstances.

Starting the month in a vain I plan to continue in, here is my September TBR. A weekly one was clearly a tad much, so trying out this monthly lark. (yes, some of these were on my August TBR, I never really started them):

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being a Wallflower Stephen Chbosky: I started this book last month, and have read around 40 pages – up until the end of part 1 for anyone who has read it. The epistolary nature of Perks surprised me, and I’m still not quite sure that I like it very much. The content, however, is fairly engaging, if I hadn’t have been busy and unwell I am sure I would have read much further.

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

Fight Club Chuck Palanhuik: Same as last month, I would like to read this before I re-watch the film. I bought a copy of the film a month or 4 ago, and it has a digital copy allowing system thingy (yes, I am that good with technical language) so I plan to take it with me when I travel.

Crash by J G Ballard

Crash by J G Ballard

Crash J G Ballard: If you read any of my read-a-thon posts you will probably have seen how weird I found Ballard’s other novel High Rise. My friend mentioned this, and it sounded more intriguing, my mind cannot begin to fathom the sexualisation of traffic collisions/accidents. It will be an interesting read, enjoyable is yet to be seen.

Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

The Hound of the Baskervilles Sir Arthur Conan Doyle: This post gives you some idea of how much I love Sherlock. As I have read none of the books, and this is always the one I say I will read, I am committing. I now have this in e-book and hard copy, so travelling is no excuse for reading it!

James Potter and the Hall of Elders' Crossing by G Norman Lippert

James Potter and the Hall of Elders’ Crossing by G Norman Lippert

James Potter and the Hall of Elders’ Crossing G Norman Lippert: The friend I am travelling with put me onto these while we were in Turkey last September (that does not feel like a year ago) and I have been meaning to read them since. This is the first in the Rowling endorsed spin-off series. It is much lighter than the other reads so should provide a welcome break from the heavy tone of both Fight Club and Crash. This is also an e-book so I can sit back and read it while relaxing on a Vietnamese beach should I choose to.

There is a good mix of novel genre and level there, so no matter how I feel there should be something to read. It also includes 4 of the books (all but James Potter) that were in my August Haul (the others being the other Sherlock Holmes books, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – my original one shed it’s cover, so I replaced it – and a Wreck-It Journal.)

There is also a mixture of e-books and hard-copy, so I can continue my TBR on my travels. I leave this month, which is why this TBR is not that heavy on pages. That said, I have a 14hr plane journey and multiple 5+ hour bus journeys to contend with, so there should be ample reading time available this month. I may end up reading more than is on this list, who knows?!

How was your August? Did you read everything you planned, or find something new to distract you? What is on your TBR this month? Have you read any of these books and got any thoughts?

 

4 thoughts on “September TBR (and a vague August Haul re-cap)

  1. Oh god oh god why would you *want* to read Crash based on my description of it?? 😛 That being said, would you like to subject yourself to it together and start reading it on the same day? I mean undoubtedly you’ll finish before me but I thought it might be nice to sort of read along with each other?

    Like

    • It wasn’t as much want, as I can’t not read it as it fascinates me, probably because I can’t get my head around it. I return home tonight, where my copy is, as long as we start before 18th Sept, I think this sounds like a plan!

      Like

      • Ok that’s slightly more understandable I think. I suspect you might come to regret the decision but… hey ho, let’s go? (sorry couldn’t resist)

        It shouldn’t take too long to read, we could set a day/couple of days maybe? I wanna finish Ready Player One before I start any more books but then I’m free as a bird haha.

        Like

Leave a Reply

