Viva La Nerdolution

nerd machineFor as long as I could remember, I just presumed I was pretty bog-standard normal. That doesn’t really bother me. I didn’t really think I was very into anything, maybe sports, or Harry Potter, but if you can find many kids in Liverpool who aren’t at least mildly obsessed with one of those things than you are a better human-seeker than I am.

I used to love the OC. I don’t really know why I have put used to there, I still do, I can’t believe it finished 7 years ago! Seth Cohen was my favourite character in it without a shadow of a doubt. He was witty, intelligent, and a nerd. I’ve always loved the stories in comic-books, just don’t enjoy reading the actual things, and for the first time, there was a character on a main-stream show that I loved who liked all things nerdy. Now we have all sorts on the TV that are embraced by nerds, The Big Bang Theory epitomising this. It’s made me realise that being nerdy about something has almost become the way of saying that you really quite like it.

That means I am nerdy about a lot of things. Excluding sports, and really zero-ing in on what is displayed at comic-con, I can discount gaming straight off. I have never really gamed, I just never got into it when I was younger and lagged to far behind when I grew up. I’ve dabbled, Portal and Mass-Effect being the only games I have had considerable success on, with the exception of the greatest game ever: Disney Car Races. I would classify my nerdiness to extend to the following things (this list is probably not comprehensive):

  • Harry Potter
  • Lord of the Rings (inc. Hobbit)
  • The Marvel Universe (my favourite superhero film is Iron Man)
  • Once Upon a Time
  • Star Wars
  • Star Trek
  • DC
  • True Blood
  • Chuck
  • The Vampire Diaries
  • Hannibal
  • Orange is the New Black
  • Spooks
  • Divergent
  • Hunger Games
  • Doctor Who
  • Sherlock
  • Elementary

At this point I am going to say that I am an unashamed fan of both DC and Marvel. If I had to choose, I will always put Marvel ahead of DC, however, I think it is OK to like them both. I have never understood the problem of liking them both.

Seth Green taking a selfie of a Nerd HQ panel featuring himself, Liam McIntyre, Nathan Fillion, Chloe Bennett, and Alan Tudyk

Seth Green taking a selfie of a Nerd HQ panel featuring himself, Liam McIntyre, Nathan Fillion, Chloe Bennett, and Alan Tudyk

This past weekend has been San Diego Comic-Con, undoubtedly the world’s biggest nerd-fest. It is on my bucket list to go. It’s only the third or fourth year I have carefully kept up with the goings on there. I completely put that down to Zachary Levi and The Nerd Machine. If you don’t know much/anything about it, then you should click here. Zachary Levi, or Chuck and Thor: The Dark World fame, set up a company embracing nerd culture, life, and created apparel, meet and greets, panels, conventions for nerds to meet up and discover more about each other and their fandoms. He does this while raising money for Operation Smile. It’s not my chosen charity, to be honest I don’t yet have one, but it is a great cause which he passionately believes in. He has combined two of his great loves, in the spirit of his over-lying faith, to create the Nerd Machine and Nerd HQ.

It’s like my dream. I would love to be able to combine something I love doing, to give back to others, and whilst I am doing that, raise money for a charity that I feel so strongly about. I would also like to go. He runs panels throughout Comic-Con at Nerd HQ, which is a separate event that runs alongside comic-con for nerds to convene at. The panels he runs features people from the nerd worlds (over the past years he has had the likes of Nathan Fillion, Tom Hiddleston, Supernatural cast, Joss Whedon, Richard Madden, Doctor Who panel, Hannibal Panel,and so many more..) where people pay $22, almost all to operation smile, and get a chance, for 50 minutes, to ask their burning questions to the panelists, without judgement. It’s a great place for stars and creators of fandoms to give back to their fans and it’s just awesome. I seriously would love to go. (It is at this point that I would like to point out that the credit for the title of this post lies with Zachary Levi and the Nerd Machine)

It has made me realise that I need to start to think outside of the box to work out what I want to do. I want to work in charity/giving back. I want to do something I love. I should be able to combine those somehow to create a meaningful life whilst having enough to live on and be happy, right? And that I want to embrace my nerdiness more, and that I want to go to Nerd HQ, or failing that, Comic-Con.

Viva la Nerdolution.

Leave a Reply

