Feeling Whelmed

At this exact moment, I am sitting in my friend’s living room with exactly no things to do. (Well, I need to sort the bins out, and I need to pack, but they are thankless tasks, so I’m employing all powers of delusion about that.) Operation ‘UseAllTheRemainingFoodUp’ is firmly a-go, and of course there is the World Cup and Wimbledon on the TV; none of these actually fill my time completely though. Turns out University filled more of my life than I realised – even when I was sat round doing nothing over the past 3 years, I was thinking about Uni things, which basically counted as Uni work, right? Procrastination was so much more fun, and time consuming, when I had actual stuff to do with my day.

Over the past year I have accumulated a load of random food items (rolled oats, fajita mix, tuna, vegan mince, and a kilo of dry kidney beans to name but a few) that seemed like a great buy at the time, but are now sitting unused in my cupboards and freezer (to be fair, I did ‘Live Below The Line‘ for UNICEF where I needed cheap food to fill me up – if you’ve never heard of this, check it out, it’s worth doing, or at least looking into, really opens the eyes – I’ve linked the page for you!) So far, my friend and I have cooked faji-ttos (which are our attempt at mixing the best of fajitas and burritos into one glorious Mexican food-fest) and a chocolate orange flapjack (which we naturally put with Ben&Jerry’s Chocolate Fudge Brownie Ice Cream – because, well, it would have been rude to the ice cream to leave it in the freezer uneaten. Obviously.) I wish I had eaten this well for the rest of the year, I mean, I cook most of my food from scratch – I would say I can sort of cook reasonably well – but I have had all these ingredients there for 12 months. Sigh, of course I learn at the end of Uni.

Last night, once the World Cup had finished and the flapjack was cooling, we decided to have a quick look through Netflix, which resulted in two things: deciding that we absolutely 100% had to watch ’10 Things I Hate About You’ before we went to bed, and discovering that Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Tom Hiddleston are the same age (I realise to many this will be a. not surprising, and b. not important, but my friend and I are fans of their work, and really can’t believe that they are both 33 – they were born just 8 days apart. When did they age?) This pretty much sums up where my life is at: watching 90’s rom-coms I can almost quote verbatim before going to bed at 3am whilst juggling social media accounts.

Whilst watching, I remembered the film contains one of my favourite cinema quotes of all time:

Chastity: I know you can be overwhelmed, and you can be underwhelmed, but can you ever just be whelmed?

Bianca: I think you can in Europe.

Whelmed is a perfect description of how I feel right now. Not overwhelmed that everything is finishing and changing, and that this is the end of the educative road for me, but I would say it is hitting me enough and i am aware of what is happening enough to not be underwhelmed. So yeah, I feel whelmed, I live in Europe, so it’s acceptable (don’t questions my poor logic!)

I’m kind of disappointed in myself for not doing anything more useful with my time since I finished my exams. I love the World Cup and Wimbledon, and until this week I had almost religiously watched every single second of the group-stages with my housemate. It’s been so exciting, goals galore, and the odd moment of controversy (as a Liverpool fan, I don’t want to dwell to long on the ‘bite’ – I’m still really pissed off with him!) I have rediscovered social media throughout the tournament (a rant about which I will probably launch into later, or another day) which is definitely not the most useful thing I could have done. As nice as it is to see what someone in Bolivia thinks about the Argentina v Bosnia match, or what my primary school friend did last week in Tanzania, I think planning for my trip, packing, or completing the scrapbook I started 4 years ago would have been a better use of my time. I did work a lot of hours and I did set up this blog, which is something I have been meaning to do for a while, so maybe I shouldn’t be quite so harsh on myself.

Right – resolution time – for the next 2 weeks before graduation I plan to get essentials for my trip bought, or at least booked, and I want to be up-to-date with my scrapbook. (Don’t roll your eyes if you stick with me and see a post in 2 weeks saying I haven’t done anything.)

I still don’t fully know what I am doing here. I finally set the blog up to reflect myself a little more, and managed to add both my Instagram and Twitter (I had to make my own widget – if you knew how technologically backwards I am, you would realise this is much more impressive than I have made it sound) so you can follow me there if you feel the urge – not really sure why you would, but it would be lovely. I haven’t found my ‘niche’ yet either, I expect, for now at least, my niche will be me. I mean, I know a lot about me, actually, I consider myself an expert on me, so I should probably stick to things I know about. I’m hoping that when I take off abroad and travel that my blog will become more about that, and actually reflect the title, but we shall see!

Feel free to stick around for the ride 🙂

Leave a Reply

